Government organisation

The Republic of Suriname is a constitutional democracy. The legislative powers of the State are attributed to the National Assembly of Suriname, which is the highest political body of the state. This Parliament consists of 51 members, elected by popular vote for a period of five years.

The Vice President of the Republic is elected in a similar process. The Vice President is the Chair of the Council of Ministers.

A State Advisory Council consisting of 15 members advises the President in the conduct of policies. These members are:

  • representatives of all political parties represented in the National Assembly
  • representatives of Unions
  • representatives of Industry

Justice is exercised by an independent Court of Justice, of which the members are appointed for life by the President in consultation with the National Assembly, the State Advisory Council and the National Order of Private Attorneys.

The highest executive and administrative power is exercised by a Council of 16 Ministers, representing an equal number of ministries, appointed by the President.

Administrative Divisions

Suriname is divided in ten administrative districts, namely Brokopondo, Commewijne, Coronie, Marowijne, Nickerie, Para, Paramaribo, Saramacca, Sipaliwini, Wanica. Each district has a fixed number of resorts, gathered from the total area. The District Commissioner (DC) is the Administrative Head and also chairman of the District Council. The DC is assisted by a District Secretary and a number of other executive officials.